My rational fear of AI 🤖

And how I put a positive spin on it …

Why am I scared of AI?

Well it’s pretty simple actually. I’ve been working my ass off for almost 5 years on a medical degree that might be made irrelevant by AI.

I shouldn’t complain though as it will be really beneficial for healthcare. Making it affordable, accessible and accurate for everyone.

AI is already outperforming radiologists on most aspects. For example an AI radiology program has been shown to pick up lung cancer on a simple chest X-ray 6 months before I trained radiologist can. In the treatment of lung cancer 6 months can make a major difference in 5 year survival..

Obviously all of us would want the AI radiologist if we are the patients, although I have spoken to some radiologists about the topic and they seem to think that rather than being replaced, AI is going to become a tool and if you don’t adapt to using it, only then will you be replaced.

I disagree. At the rapid rate AI is moving I think a few jobs will survive.

Although that isn’t reason to be negative and gloomy. All major technological breakthroughs led to fear at first but at the end of the day turned out to be net positive.

Technology itself isn't inherently good or bad; it's how people use it that matters. If we believe in people's inherent goodness and intelligence and provide them with the right tools, they can accomplish incredible things and use technology to make the world a better place.

As more jobs get replaced, it will open more possibilities we could never imagine. Uber drivers put taxi workers out of jobs but those that adapted made a lot of money from Uber. Same will go for self driving cars replacing Uber drivers and you’ll possibly just be able to send your car out to go work for you so you can focus on more creative pursuits..

So back to my original point - according to the prediction of a book I recently read AI2041 - 10 Predictions of our future with AI - doctors will become empathetic caretakers and communicators…

I would not like that even though it would be awesome for society. I got into this field to be challenged. To get my hands dirty, work hard and save lives.

Without being pessimistic, it is an actual concern that will direct my future choices. Now instead of choosing to go to famous hospitals in big cities I might prefer to work in poorer countries to get more hands on experience.

I know this is just essentially a ramble newsletter but if you read this far - thank you - and my point is basically that you shouldn’t get blindsided by the unfolding of this brilliant new technology. Stay up to date with current developments and adjust your trajectory accordingly 🧠💪

Get smarter on AI in 5 minutes a day.

The Rundown is the world’s largest AI newsletter, read by over 600,000 professionals from companies like Apple, OpenAI, NASA, Tesla, and more.

Their expert research team spends all day learning what’s new in AI and gives you ‘the rundown’ of the most important developments in one free email every morning.

The result? Readers not only keep up with the insane pace of AI but also learn why it actually matters.