Growth Mindset vs Fixed Mindset 🧠

Which one are you?

First let’s start off with a quick definition of growth vs fixed mindsets:

Simply put a growth mindset means you believe that you can change your attributes, things like intelligence and talent. And a fixed mindset is believing that what you have is permanent and cannot be changed.

Now I’ll show you through a story from my own life how important a growth mindset is and that anyone can develop one.

I like to believe I have always had a growth mindset but in retrospect I opened up my mindset a lot over the last 7 years.

Even tho I did have somewhat of a growth mindset I always played it to my strengths and had a lot of limiting beliefs.

These beliefs were broken a few years back when I started my medical journey. There were some particularly tough subjects to learn and my normal method of studying was just not cutting it.

I looked into more methods and the clear and obvious solution would be the Memory Palace technique. Only one problem: it required a lot of visualisation and creativity.

I basically gave up immediately because I always believed I am simply not a visual or creative person.

Then I read the book Moonwalking With Einstein, about a guy with basically the same beliefs that challenged it, learned the skill through practice and won the world memory championships.

I immediately started practicing it, even tho it took months I got it and it’s still one of the most valuable skills I learnt. Not only because of what it did for my studies but because of what it did for my mindset.

I now fully believe that with the right effort and focus that I can learn anything and never shy away from a challenge.

Even creativity can be learned.

That lesson led me to build a social media network of 700k followers and ace all my exams.

Growth mindset is crucial.

Locked In Cycling GIF by Peloton

Seeking impartial news? Meet 1440.

Every day, 3.5 million readers turn to 1440 for their factual news. We sift through 100+ sources to bring you a complete summary of politics, global events, business, and culture, all in a brief 5-minute email. Enjoy an impartial news experience.